1901 Manuscript Map of Canyon Creek Mining District, Trinity County, California

CanyonCreekMiningCA-montgomery-1901
$1,000.00
Plat of the Surveys Made at the Chloride and Bailey Quartz Mines. In Canon Creek Mining District, Trinity County, Cal. - Main View
Processing...

1901 Manuscript Map of Canyon Creek Mining District, Trinity County, California

CanyonCreekMiningCA-montgomery-1901

Northern California's 'Second Gold Rush'.
$1,000.00

Title


Plat of the Surveys Made at the Chloride and Bailey Quartz Mines. In Canon Creek Mining District, Trinity County, Cal.
  1901 (dated)     19.25 x 24.5 in (48.895 x 62.23 cm)     1 : 3600

Description


This is a 1901 manuscript plat map of mining claims along the Canyon (or Cañon) Creek in Trinity County, California, prepared by surveyors Henry L. Lowden and Thomas J. Montgomery.
A Closer Look
The map depicts a portion of Trinity County to the west of Lake Trinity (a more recent reservoir) along the Canyon (or Cañon) Creek. The area, now part of the Shasta-Trinity National Forest, was once home to several mines and mining towns, including the now-ghost towns of Cañon City and Dedrick. More specifically, the map covers mining claims along the Little East Fork of Canyon Creek, running up to a mountain ridge ('Top of Mountain'), called on modern maps, a bit further south, as Weaver Bally, perhaps related to the name Bailey used here. Claims are outlined and named, often with colorful names like 'Eureka' and 'Hurricane.' Mining tunnels, shafts, facilities, areas of discovery of minerals, mountain ridges, trails, waterways, and other features are traced throughout.

Following the initial gold rush of the 1850s in this area, which was based on more easily accessible placers, the late 19th century saw something of a second gold (and other mineral) rush based on deep-shaft mining. In a dramatic demonstration of the ephemeral nature of mining communities of the era, the entire town of Cañon City packed up and moved further up the Cañon Creek to Dedrick in 1891 after new gold deposits were discovered there.
Publication History and Census
This map is based on surveys made by Henry Larkin Lowden in 1890 - 1892, with additional work by Thomas J. Montgomery in 1901. As a manuscript map, it is an entirely unique work.

CartographerS


Thomas J. Montgomery (June 8, 1864 - April 18, 1958) was a surveyor and civil engineer active in Trinity County, California in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Montgomery was born in Ukiah, California and appears to have relocated to Trinity County by the early 1890s, received training as a surveyor and civil engineer, and started a family. Initially working as a contract surveyor for local mines, Montgomery also designed bridges across several creeks in the Trinity Alps region. He later (c. 1903) became the Country Surveyor of Trinity County and held that role until at least 1914. More by this mapmaker...


Henry Larkin Lowden (October 12, 1857 - November 16, 1935), also known as 'Hank,' was a surveyor active in Trinity County, California in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Lowden was born, raised, and spent nearly his entire life in Weaverville. His parents would have been among the early American settlers to the region, who came in search of gold and associated opportunities. His father, William Spencer Lowden (1830 - 1912), was also a surveyor and trained his son in the profession, with them operating for a time as 'W.S. Lowden and Son.' They primarily conducted surveys for mines in the region but were also involved in larger-scale surveys, including (with Jno. Johnson) an 1894 'Official Map of Trinity County' (Rumsey 2523.000). Learn More...

Condition


Small dime sized area of loss in upper right, border. Else clean. On waxed surveyor's linen.